Zum Inhalt springen Zur Kontakt-Info springen
Menü einblenden

Online Shop

Langenloiser Vincents Spiegel Maischegärung

Grüner Veltliner

2015

Kamptal DAC Reserve, Erste Lage ÖTW

Rarity

Multi-layered aromatic spectre, dried herbs, hey and floral notes, very present, yellow fruit underlined by a hint of earthiness; the palate offers a lively acid-spice-play from the beginning onwards, dense fruit profile of quince and ripe citrus fruit, full mid-palate without being heavy, rather subtle with a fine nuance of meadow herbs, dried hey, persistent structure which stays until the very end…

Category
White wine
Alcohol content
13.5%
Bottle closure type
Natural cork
Bottle size
38.00 €
50.67 € / liter
+-
Price incl. VAT, plus postage
The Wine
The Vineyard

The name Spiegel likely comes from the Latin word Spectaculum, which means “lookout” or “viewing point”. The vineyard’s height, exposure and, as a result, good aeration, allow for the grapes to be harvested even in late October and early November with generous freshness, structure and density.

Vincent Bründlmayer acquired the Grüner Veltliner vineyard from his family in 2010, and in 2011 he produced his own first wine from that vineyard. Sustainable cultivation and strong yield reduction are conditions required for top wines from the old (rejuvenated) grapevines.

Maturation

The fermentation was done in a similar fashion as in the production of red wine. The wine macerated with its skins for two weeks in 300ltr barrels of Austrian (Manhartsberg) and French origin. After pressing, the wine rested in barrels until late summer of the following. The extended lees contact lent additional structure and density to the wine. It was subsequently bottled unfiltered and with minimal addition of sulphur dioxide.

Food pairing recommendation

The Veltliner grapes for the "Kamptal DAC Reserve" style show such versatility, fitting to, for example, a range of exotic foods such as curries and wok dishes. Also ideal are typical Austrian specialties like roast pork, duck or liver, and baked dishes as well. As the wine matures, the range of possibilities grows generously. Cheese, casseroles and strong fish dishes are other fine matches.

Ried Langenloiser Spiegel

Size
103 ha
Elevation
260 – 270 m
Inclination
1 °
Orientation
ESE

The name of the vineyard „Spiegel“ (mirror) is said to derive from Latin “spectaculum” (“look-out”). In the ancient times of the “Limes”, the Romans probably used the spot to observe the Germanic tribes to the north of the Danube. However, still up to now most of the folks think that the name is linked to the convex vaulting of the 300 meter hill, a kind of “mirror” to the sky.

Zum Inhalt springen Zur Kontakt-Info springen
Menü einblenden

Online-Shop

Langenloiser Vincents Spiegel Maischegärung

Grüner Veltliner

2015

Kamptal DAC Reserve, Erste Lage ÖTW

Rarität

Vielschichtiges Aromenspektrum, getrocknete Kräuter, Heu und florale Ankläge, sehr präsent, Gelbfrucht untermalt mit leichter Erdigkeit; belebendes Säure-Würze-Spiel zu Beginn am Gaumen, dichtes Fruchtspiel von Quitte und reifer Zitrusfrucht, vollmundig ohne irgendwie schwer zu wirken, durchaus subtil mit einer feinen Wiesenkräuternote, getrocknetes Heu, persistente Struktur, die bis ans lange Finish bleibt.

Kategorie
Weißwein
Alkohol
13,5%
Verschluss
Naturkork
Flaschengröße
38,00 €
50,67 € / Liter
+-
Preis inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Der Wein
Die Lage

Der Name Spiegel soll aus dem lateinischen „Spectaculum“ (Aussichtspunkt) herstammen. Die Höhe, die Ausgesetztheit und damit auch die gute Durchlüftung der Lage erhalten den Trauben auch bei sehr später Lese Ende Oktober bis Anfang November viel Frische, Struktur und Dichte.

Vincent Bründlmayer hat den Grüner Veltliner-Weingarten 2010 von der Familie erworben und kelterte 2011 daraus seinen ersten eigenen Wein. Nachhaltige Bearbeitung und starke Ertragsreduktion sind Bedingung für Top-Weine aus den alten (verjüngten) Rebstöcken.

Ausbau

Die Gärung verlief ähnlich wie beim Rotwein für mehrere Wochen auf der Maische und zwar in 300 Liter Fässern aus Manhartsberger und französischer Eiche. Nach dem Pressen blieb der Wein noch bis zum Spätsommer in den Fässern. Langer Hefekontakt gab ihm zusätzlich Struktur und Dichte. Die Füllung erfolgte unfiltriert und mit minimalem Einsatz von Schwefeldioxid.

Speisenempfehlung

Die Lagen-Veltliner im „Reserve“-Stil sind vielseitig einsetzbar, etwa zu verschiedenen exotischen Gerichten, Curries, Wok, auch zu typisch österreichischen Spezialitäten wie Gebackenem, Schweinsbraten, Ente oder Leber, mit der Reife wächst die Fülle der Möglichkeiten. Auch zu Käse, Aufläufen, oder kräftigen Fischgerichten.

Ried Langenloiser Spiegel

Größe
103 ha
Seehöhe
260 – 270 m
Neigung
1 °
Ausrichtung
OSO

Der Name des Langenloiser Spiegels soll aus dem lateinischen „Spectaculum“ (Aussichtspunkt) herstammen. Die Römer dürften den Hügel zwischen Donau- und Kamptal als vorgeschobenen Beobachtungsposten genutzt haben. Die Volksethymologie bezieht den Namen Spiegel auf seine konvexe Wölbung zum Himmel hin.